Clinical Negligence

“ ... A leading claimant-focused set... a formidable reputation, eliciting instructions from leading claimant firms... members impress with their ablity to handle matters of wide-ranging value and severity... ”


Our clinical negligence team is led by Simon Taylor QC, a recognised market leader. He heads a team of five highly respected silks and a large number of very able juniors. The leading directories recommend approximately a third of our team for clinical negligence work and praise us for our strong culture of attention to detail, our innovative approach to quantum and our professional and efficient clerks.

Cloisters has always been at the cutting edge of clinical negligence law, playing a lead role in many of the major cases such as A v Powys Local Health Board (£10.7m), the highest ever clinical negligence award at trial and the first to break through the £10m barrier; Masterman-Lister v Brutton & Co and others, the leading Court of Appeal case on capacity; Iqbal v Whipps Cross University NHS Trust leading Court of Appeal case regarding compensation for the “lost years” and the doctrine of precedent; Crofton v NHSLA in respect of the impact of local authority payments on damages for care; and Lucas v Barking, Havering & Redbridge Hospitals NHS Trust, the leading case on disclosure of draft witness statements and expert reports.

In the last year alone our clinical negligence team who are almost invariably instructed on behalf of claimants recovered in excess of £150 million for injured victims.

Our work includes:

  • Birth injury and other brain injury cases
  • Cancer (delayed diagnosis and misdiagnosis)
  • Cases arising in all medical specialities
  • Causation
  • Consent to treatment cases
  • Inquests
  • Limitation
  • Medical and related disciplinary matters

Our barristers for Clinical Negligence




Simon Taylor KC

Year of silk: 2003

Joel Donovan KC

Year of silk: 2011

William Latimer-Sayer KC

Year of silk: 2016

Simon Dyer KC

Year of silk: 2017

Andrew Buchan

Year of call: 1981

Yvette Genn

Year of call: 1991

Sally Cowen

Year of call: 1995

Martyn McLeish*

Year of call: 1997

Linda Jacobs

Year of call: 2000

Anna Beale

Year of call: 2001

Hannah Godfrey

Year of call: 2002

Sarah Fraser Butlin

Year of call: 2005

Caroline Musgrave-Cohen

Year of call: 2008

Catriona Stirling

Year of call: 2008

Sheryn Omeri

Year of call: 2010

Chesca Lord

Year of call: 2011

Rachel Barrett

Year of call: 2012

Tamar Burton

Year of call: 2012

Jennifer Danvers

Year of call: 2012

Jonathan Cook

Year of call: 2017

Ruaraidh Fitzpatrick

Year of call: 2017

Laurene Veale

Year of call: 2019

Charlotte Goodman

Year of call: 2019

Dr Melanie Sharp

Year of call: 2020

Ameer Ismail

Year of call: 2021
Array ( [posts_per_page] => 3 [post_type] => post [tax_query] => Array ( [0] => Array ( [taxonomy] => post_tag [field] => term_id [terms] => 733 ) ) )
Cloisters’ pupils reflect on their first four months of pupillage
Darnley v Croydon Health Services NHS Trust: Supreme Court confirms duty of care exists on non-medical A&E staff
Rachel Barrett represents bereaved family of Robin Richards