Commercial Law


Our barristers have expertise across a broad range of commercial law disputes. They are regularly instructed to appear in commercial and common law litigation at all levels, as well as domestic and international arbitrations.

Cloisters' formidable reputation as a leading Employment Law set is a testament to its particular expertise in respect to the commercial aspects of the employment relationship.

Recent cases range across a broad spectrum of commercial disputes from complex commercial wrongdoing in the tech sector to enforcement of restrictive covenants for a media organisation facing client poaching. Clients range from celebrities such as P Diddy, to media publications such as the Independent and higher education institutions including the London School of Economics, to name just a few.

Various members, at different levels of seniority, are able to accept instructions direct from members of the public and from organisations.

Our work includes:

  • Bonus and commission disputes
  • Unlawful competitive activity, restrictive covenants and garden leave
  • Wrongful dismissal
  • Director's duties and remedies for Director's misfeasance / misconduct
  • Fiduciary duties
  • Injunctive relief (both interim and final)
  • Commercial Contracts
  • Sale of goods
  • Confidentiality and database rights
  • Partnership disputes
  • Arbitrations
  • Commercial agents' regulations
  • Commercial aspects of sports law

Our barristers for Commercial Law




Robin Allen KC

Year of silk: 1995

Paul Epstein KC

Year of silk: 2006

Daphne Romney KC

Year of silk: 2009

Jacques Algazy KC*

Year of silk: 2012

Caspar Glyn KC

Year of silk: 2012

Jason Galbraith-Marten KC

Year of silk: 2014

Rachel Crasnow KC

Year of silk: 2015

Tom Coghlin KC

Year of silk: 2018

Ed Williams KC

Year of silk: 2018

Paul Michell

Year of call: 1991

Tom Brown

Year of call: 2000

Adam Ohringer

Year of call: 2001

Chris Milsom

Year of call: 2006

Olivia-Faith Dobbie

Year of call: 2007

Nathaniel Caiden

Year of call: 2009

Sheryn Omeri

Year of call: 2010

Jonathan Cook

Year of call: 2017

Charlotte Goodman

Year of call: 2019

Helena Ifeka

Year of call: 2020

Jonathan Mitchell KC

Year of call: 1979

Delroy B Duncan KC

Year of call: 1984